Book Reviews:

Invasion of the Soul-Eater in Mim

“Author Nan McAdam bring the mystical world of Mim to life in the third book of Charlie Kadabra. Nan weaves the reader into the story with the enchantment of her storytelling, transporting them into the latest conflict threating Mim and Charlie’s loved ones. The story holds the reader’s attention, making it nearly impossible to put down. I read the book in one setting. Needless to say nothing else got done during this time.” ~ Sue Raymond

“Talented Author, Nan McAdam’s story, Invasion of the Soul-Eater in Mim, takes Charlie Kadabra, Fen, and Galzra the dragon on an adventure to save the land of magic named Mim. Ms. McAdam’s Mim series will engage readers young and not so young.” ~ Kathryn Daugherty

5 Stars – Charlie Does It Again!

“Once again Nan McAdam and Charlie Kadabra have captured the essence of magic and lead us on an unforgettable journey. This book will keep your child interested in reading and allow them to use their imagination. Nan’s use of words and descriptions have you actually “seeing” the characters and engrossing you in the story. My grandson has read the previous two Charlie Kadabra books and was lost in the stories; he’s NOT a big reader. I highly recommend this wonderful book!” ~ Sheila Middleton

5 Stars – Nan McAdam’s 3rd book in her Charlie Kadabra saga Invasion of the Soul Eater in Mim is another great thrilling read!

“Wow, fabulously written. Nan McAdam’s 3rd book in her Charlie Kadabra saga Invasion of the Soul Eater in Mim is another great thrilling read. Fantastic fun for families to read together, or for kids to enjoy reading independently.” ~ Sandy Russell

5 Stars –Once again Nan McAdam has knocked me off my feet …

“Once again Nan McAdam has knocked me off my feet with her latest cleverly weaved story of Charlie Kadabra, Galzra and Fen. “Invasion of the Soul-Eater” is the third book to be joined into the series “Last of the Magicians”! Mim is unaware of the foreboding presence that is seeking to destroy the souls that call Mim their home. Charlie Kadabra and Fen join forces to implement strategies to break through the spell that has Mim grasped in it’s evil clutches. Do these brave magicians have enough time? Prepare yourself for a thrilling whirlwind ride as Charlie and his faithful dragon Galzra put on their invisible cloaks of courage, perseverance and grit to save Mim and it’s inhabitants!!!” ~ Susan Stickfort, Librarian

“Young and older readers alike will feast on another spectacular adventure of Charlie and his magical family and friends in this third book of the Charlie Kadabra series. “Invasion of the Soul-Eater” brims with vivid images, sounds and aromas to delight your senses and imagination as the good and brave Charlie encounters the dark evil of Lucius Blackheart. Can young Charlie defeat this ancient, powerful enemy? What will be the fate of Emily and the children? Will Charlie win the day? The very existence of his beloved Mim hangs in the balance. Readers are in for another great adventure that will have you eager to turn the next page.” ~ Robin Fossum

Secret Key of Mim

 

5 Stars –Nan McAdam has done it again!

Nan McAdam has done it again! This is a WONDERFUL book. She has the ability to write so you actually visualize each and every character as well as the places they visit. You find yourself right in the middle of the adventures and battles. Very well done, Nan. Looking forward to your next book! ~ Sheila Middleton

5 Stars – A Great Adventure!

From beginning to end, this story was a delightful read. I was instantly drawn into it with its strong and whimsical characters. Full of fun and adventure, it takes the reader through the many lessons and emotions of life, demonstrating the importance of compassion, determination and hope! Enjoy! ~ Pat Dolton

 

5 Stars –A great tale of fantasy!!!

As a retired educator I so enjoyed the way Nan tied together the mystical world of magicians and fantasy with the school setting. It was a delightful read and think readers of all ages would find it most enjoyable! This is the first book I have read that Nan has written and found it to be well done! ~ Joyce Knock

 

5 Stars –A great book for any age

A great book for any age! I love the adventure Charlie goes on and how the author takes you from one adventure into another seamlessly. Thank you for another great book! ~ Wendy Siefken

 

5 Stars – Charlie Kadabra’s Adventures Continue

In this delightful follow up to Saving Mim, Charlie Kadabara and his friends set out to solve the disappearance of Charlie’s parents. The cast of characters is vibrant and vivid, and the plot is exciting and imaginative. The world Nan McAdams has created is a very original blend of magic and fantasy that reminds me of Piers Anthony’s best work. If you’re a fan of dragons, magic, elves, trolls, Christmas, yetis and giant talking rabbits (and who isn’t?) you will love this book. ~ Steve Alcorn

 

5 Stars – Charlie Kadabra Invites the Reader’s Imagination to Climb on Galzra’s Back

Charlie Kadabra invites the reader’s imagination to climb on Galzra’s scaly back for another adventure of twists and turns in “The Secret Key of Mim.” We catch up with the young magician and his flop-eared furry companion, Fen, as they join his Grandfather to unravel the mysterious disappearance of Charlie’s parents and friend. The transition from the original story of Charlie’s self-discovery to full-on identity as the “last of the magicians” is a seamless turn of the last chapter’s page to the next. The reader feels part of Charlie’s growing circle of family and friends, anxiously anticipating his next heroic move. You won’t believe who is Charlie’s newest family member! Nan McAdam sprinkles a whole lot of delightful imagination with a touch of wisdom giving hint to Charlie’s maturing self. Once again, Nan offers a magical break from everyday life for your must-read list. ~ Robin Fossum

 

Saving Mim

 

5 out of 5 Stars Was a wonderful fantasy/adventure to a world any child/adult would love to …

on April 19, 2015

The book, Saving Mim, was a wonderful fantasy/adventure to a world any child/adult would love to read about. It was a funny, sometimes sad, about good vs. Evil. I can’t wait until Nan McAdam’s sequel to this. It was a total delight!

 

5 out of 5 Stars Great Fantasy for all ages

on April 12, 2015

Charlie Kadabra feels different and is different from the rest of the kids at school. After all, he stays with foster parents since his parents abandoned him. Everything changes when he sees his science teacher trying to kill a little white rabbit.He goes to the aid of the rabbit and blows the teacher up. Before anything else happens, his friend Emily calls him and he. the rabbit and Emily go through a veil-like curtain and end up in the land called Mim. Charlie finds out he is the last of the Magicians and must protect Mim.He and his new friend go on many adventures as Charlie gains his powers He must defeat Dr. Pi. Will he be able to get rid of the nasty doctor and save Mim?This is an exciting book, a real page turner. I had to keep reading to find out what happens to Charlie and his friend. Lots of action and beautiful descriptions. Kids ages 10 to all adults will like this book. I think it is even suitable for parents to read to the younger kids at bedtime.

 

5 out of 5 Stars A great story for kids and adults

on March 28, 2015

A great story for kids and adults! Nan really takes the reader on an adventure and her descriptions make you feel like you are there. A lovely book to remind us that we are all stronger than we give ourselves credit for. Can’t wait for the next installment!

5 out of 5 Stars A Very Impressive Start to an Exciting Series

on March 27, 2015

Saving Mim is a wonderful adventure for middle readers, and also a great read aloud book for younger children that can also be enjoyed by adults. It’s full of fresh, inventive and magical ideas.I enjoyed the first person viewpoint and the narrator’s distinctive voice. The book is extremely well written, and the dialogue really help brings it to life.This is a very impressive start to what I’m sure will be an excellent series. Highly recommended.

 

5 out of 5 Stars Charlie Kadabra Last of the Magicians by Nan McAdam is a great read for readers 10 through adult

on March 18, 2015

Given To Me For An Honest ReviewSaving Mim: Charlie Kadabra Last of the Magicians by Nan McAdam is a great read for readers 10 through adult. This book is for ages 10 – 18 and grade levels 4 – 10. Once you open the book, it will grab you and hold you down. You’ll watch those pages turn and turn and turn some more until you get to the last page. As you read it, you will be drawn in and feel as though you are part of the story. The story is vivid, exciting, magical, active yet it is also sprinkled with a bit of wisdom, humor and tenderness. Charlie doesn’t know that he’s the last of the guardians of Mim. The evil Dr. Pi wants to destroy Mim and all of the magic. Does Charlie find out he is the last? Is Dr. Pi able to destroy everything? I gave this book 5 stars but it deserves more. This would make a good read aloud for teachers to read to their students in class. It would make a great gift to give. It would also make a great addition to your child’s library or to any library’s bookshelf. I recommend this book to everyone especially anyone who enjoys reading about fantasy and adventures and those who love magic, monsters and dragons. I look for more from Nan McAdam.

5 out of 5 Stars I really enjoyed Saving Mim

on March 3, 2015

I really enjoyed Saving Mim. It was funny, exciting, and kept moving. I think this would be a fun book for my younger daughter….there are no slow spots and it keeps you interested. I hope there will be another book to continue Charlie’s adventures

5 out of 5 Stars Fun and Enchanting!

on March 2, 2015

Fun and enchanting, Saving Mim takes you on an exciting adventure of great importance–to save the imperiled Mim, the World of Magic–the center force of all things in our universe. You will certainly enjoy the journey with Charlie as he faces the many challenges with much strength and wisdom, and of course with a bit of magic!

5 out of 5 Stars A Wonderfully Magical Journey

on March 1, 2015

I originally stumbled across the author when I was doing research on elderly care and liked her previous book so much, I decided to give Saving Mim a shot when I saw she published again. The book chronicles the journey of young Charlie Kadabra and his quest to save the magical world of Mim. I was really drawn into the world and I felt like I really relate to the main character Charlie. The writing is descriptive, engaging and entertaining. I had a hard time putting this one down! I consider fantasy novels one of my guilty pleasures in life and this book did not disappoint! Magic, monsters and dragons, need I say more? I would highly suggest this book to anyone, young or old, who is a fan of fantasy novels or just enjoys an adventure. I look forward to reading this book to my daughter when she gets a little older.

5 out of 5 Stars Delightful story for all

on March 1, 2015

Saving Mim is a delightful read for children,adults, and in a classroom. Nan McAdam makes it easy to be right there with Charlie – working his way through each adventure. The mixture of fantasy and reality is entertaining,which keeps you wanting to find out ” what happens next”. Charlie’s challenges are interlaced with life lessons that make you relate to Charlie and the other characters. I thoroughly enjoyed reading Saving Mim and am looking forward to reading Charlie’s next adventure. Keep up the great work,Nan.

5 out of 5 Stars I would recommend this book for all to read

on February 23, 2015

I would recommend this book for all to read. wonderfully written from the start to the end. Charlie was character who I can relate to. I hope there will be a sequel to Saving Mim.. I could visualize the characters and places they visited I couldn’t put down the book. I loved how he learn he was a magician from a different world and he could talk to dragons . great book !

5 out of 5 Stars Adventure and excitement as Charlie and Fen save Mim!!

on February 16, 2015

Saving Mim is a fun book to read and daydream about! Charlie is a 10 yr old boy who is picked on by bullies, and then finds out he’s really a magician, born in another world. It’s great fun…Charlie leans to ride on and talk to dragons, meets Fen, a white rabbit, that follows him wherever he goes, discovers he can swim long distances with only a shell on his face which helps him breath, meets mermaids and mermen, talks to fairies and all the mystical characters everywhere. When he battles the evil Dr. Pi and his robots there was lots of page turning excitement to keep any kid (or adult) entertained, wondering what was going to happen next. The author, Nan McAdam, created Charlie and Fen in a world with magic, humor, a little bit of sadness and a lot of love. I’m ready for the 2nd book!! Great writing, great story, and wonderful characters! 5 Stars!!!!

5 out of 5 Stars Fun, fantasy, and real depth

on February 12, 2015

“Saving Mim” is a story that works on multiple levels. It resonates with many mythical realms and traditional lore, but the characters are by no means two-dimensional figures out of a fairy tale. They are rich with emotions and they develop real relationships. Magical creatures and humans alike come alive as believable individuals, and display qualities of warmth, loyalty, courage, and sacrifice. Not to mention a good deal of humor! Mim is a world, the world of magic — but “she” is also a being. She nourishes the people, and she is in great danger. This can be an allegory for our world and the perils that it faces, perhaps a way to begin that conversation with children as they respond to the story. I hope there will be a sequel!

5 out of 5 Stars Great job, Nan McAdam

on February 12, 2015

I’m a grandmother and read this book. Definitely a must read for a young boy or girl! I could actually visualize all of the characters and places they visited. To use an old quote, “I couldn’t put it down”. Just an absolutely marvelous book! Great job, Nan McAdam. Anxiously awaiting your next book!

5 out of 5 Stars Excellent

on February 11, 2015

Saving Mim is a great story! It caught my attention and kept me attached to the very end! This book is incredibly good. The author has the main character, Charlie Kadabra, speaking and thinking through situations as a typical twelve year old boy. However, because he’s not a typical boy, but rather a magician, his life becomes a journey of intense adventure. I like how the author constantly grounds the outrageous and magical with reality, such as when Kadabra was riding on the back of a dragon while viewing the ancient Mexican caverns. I also like how she uses unique references to everyday places and objects to describe thoughts, feelings and situations, such as referencing smelling smoke in the air to the smell of guys at camp. And what a colorful storyline! Reading this story was like watching a movie in my head! It is vivid. It is exciting. It is magical. It’s active. Yet, it is sprinkled with life’s wisdom, humor and tenderness. I highly recommend this for children and adults. In addition, I strongly recommend this book to school teachers to use as a read-a-loud book to their students in their classrooms.

5 out of 5 Stars GREAT ADVENTURE

on February 10, 2015

This book is amazing, I found myself lost in Mim, and could visualize, every detail and adventure. I couldn’t put the book down, especially the last chapter. I can’t wait for the next Adventure. My 2nd grader will definitely be reading this. I loved this book because I could relate to Charlie in terms of being a foster child.

5 out of 5 Stars Wonderful Adventure!!

on February 8, 2015

Charlie Kadabra is a magical adventure for the mind as well as the soul. Charlie is different, he feels it on the inside, as well as, knowing it on the outside, all he wants just like any boy his age is to just be “normal.” But, when his true nature is revealed to him and he embraces his difference, nothing has ever felt so normal and so complete.
Taking this adventure with Charlie through the Lands of Mim, I was able to feel, taste, and smell all of the wonderment it had to offer. The intriguing prose used to describe Mim with have readers delighted and turning pages as fast as they can to experience what comes next. Even though Mim is a magical place, Charlie still has some very Earthly emotions to deal with, everything a “tween” can make a connection to and grow through the internal struggles with him. All in all, this book has everything it needs to capture the hearts and minds of tweens, while providing the messages parents want their children to hear.
Bravo, Nan! Hands down 5 stars!
Jes, Mom of Ainsley, “Wizard of Art”
Quinn, ” Fae of Levity”
and Remy, “Dragon Whisperer”

 

Blogger Reviews for Saving Mim:

June 30, 2015

Quirky Book Reviews

Saving Mim was a great middle grade read for me. I had some much fun putting myself in the perspective of a child. I felt free to make any mistake I could. Magic is one of my favorite topic’s to read about, so I knew that I would be hooked. it kind of remained me of Harry Potter with the similar qualities that was being portrayed. A part of me didn’t mind and then another part did. The characters were all so playful and so enjoyable. I had a blast reading it to my younger sister who was 5 and she could not stop asking me to read more to her. McAdam’s can capture readers from all ages and sizes to her great m/g book that I was shocked I found myself turning the pages so fast to see what might happen next or what might change. I cannot wait to read more books from this series’s and even by the author. You have a such a great talent and I cannot wait to see where the future hold for you Ms. McAdam.

 

April 7, 2015

Kid Review

As an 11 year old independent reviewer, I rate Saving Mim with 4 fangs. Saving Mim is about an orphan child named Charlie. In Saving Mom, Charlie learns that he is destine to save the magical world of Mim along with a rabbit named Fenek, a dragon named Galzra and a fairy girl named Emily and many more friends. Read the book to find out if Chalie and his friends can defeat the evil Dr. Pi who is using robots to kill the world of Mim.

 

March 28, 2015

The Creator’s Corner

This is a cute fun story. I enjoyed it and can’t wait to see what happens next to Charlie Kadabra. Please enjoy it with your child.

 

March 22, 2015

Observations from a Simple Life

I enjoyed Saving Mim. It was a fun adventures will magical and mythical creatures will great lessons in the story. My favorite line is “The power of a bully thinks he has is given to him by the person he is bullying” (page 111). This is an important lesson to convey to the young readers because bullying has become an epidemic and kids and adults need to know that bullies only stop when you stand up to them. The story of a young man who discovers that he is much more important than he thinks reminds me of the Percy Jackson series. Saving Mim is a wonderful adventure story and I look forward to read more adventures of Charlie in the magical land of Mim.

 

March 15, 2015

The Musings of a Book Addict

This is the type of book I think my sixth graders will love. They will be able to relate to Charlie in so many ways. In this book they will take a journey with Charlie through the halls of school into a fantasy world. They will find a hero they ca root for.  I am definitely looking forward to the second book in this series.

 

November 5, 2014

Book Review

By:  Judge 82

22nd Annual Writer’s Digest Self-Published Book Awards

Surviving the STRESS of Your Parents’ Old Age

Given the demographics revealing a dramatic rise in the number of seniors, especially the “old-old” or those well beyond the usual retirement age, this book can help many readers cope with the responsibilities and problems which come with caring for an elderly parent. The well-organized book provides a compelling amount of sensible advice on how to stay organized, loving and sane while caring for aged parents who may require more attention than initially realized. Key subjects cover when to get involved, when to go to the doctor about a parent, dealing with medications, home maintenance issues, achieving a reasonable communication pattern, expectation of excessive time and attention, dealing with odd habits, etc. Other significant sections cover financial issues including power of attorney, wills and trusts, bills and expenditures. Driving a car and when to take the keys away is a critical subject as are falls/accidents. Hospital stays and serious medical issues such as Alzheimer’s/ dementia, assisted living, hospices and burial issues are candidly discussed. Selling a home also comes into play. The writing is practical and down to earth with good subheads within chapters. Personal experiences embellish many subjects.

 

March 28, 2014

Book Review

By Laurie Watanabe

The Mobility Project /by Mobility Management

Surviving the Stress of Your Parents’ Old Age

When you want advice on a healthcare topic, it’s natural to turn to a physician or other clinical professional. But it can also be enlightening to get a “second opinion” from a layperson – someone without the credentials, but with the insight that can only come from personal experience.

That’s the perspective that Nan McAdam brings to her book, Surviving the Stress of Your Parents’ Old Age: How to Stay Organized, Loving & Sane While Caring for Them.

McAdam has plenty of real-life experience to draw from. Finding yourself as one of those caregivers can be a lonely and bewildering experience. The questions McAdam asks and the insight she offers are not limited to side effects. The book also tackles what is perhaps the most difficult part of care giving: Dealing with personality changes in loved ones that can make them hostile, cruel or indifferent to the heroic efforts of their caregivers.
An important part of [one of the] chapters is about the need for caregivers to detect burnout in their own lives and to take care of themselves with the same devotion they show their loved ones.

But it can be a companion on a journey that is both personal and being taken by millions of our peers. “Care giving is a beautiful gift to give to someone who is in need,” McAdam told us. “It’s a gift that can come with a heavy price for the caregiver.” All the more reason to have company along for the ride.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars The essential book for a caregiver

November 7, 2013

By Elisabeth Hallett (Hamilton, MT USA)

Surviving the STRESS of Your Parents’ Old Age: How to Stay Organized, Loving, and Sane While Caring for Them (Paperback)

This is THE essential book for anyone involved with care giving. It is comprehensive in scope – nothing is left out. Because the author has “been there,” her words carry the weight of experience and the glow of real empathy. She doesn’t sugarcoat the stressful years of care giving. She lets you know that your loved one may not respond to your care giving with love and gratitude. He or she may be angry and hostile; there may be no emotional reward. Somehow McAdam balances the hard, exhausting realities with a compassion that feels so authentic. There is a wealth of practical advice about the financial and legal ramifications of taking over when the elder can no longer manage, plus checklists on how to recognize increasing need for support and when to step in. If I were back in the situation of dealing with my parents’ old age, this is the book I wish I’d had. Highly recommended!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Great advice on dealing with the stresses of elder care, October 21, 2013

By Mizuki Matsuoka(Virginia Beach, VA USA)

Surviving the STRESS of Your Parents’ Old Age (Kindle Edition)

A very well written book on some of the stressors of elder care. The author writes from her perspective and experiences, keeping the book informative and interesting. I liked how the book struck a good balance between advice on taking care of your loved ones and advice for taking care of yourself and your family. Some good tips to get you ahead of the game as a caregiver, and some great tips to help keep your sanity!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!,October 20, 2013

By Cathy Anderson(Tower, MN USA)

Surviving the STRESS of Your Parents’ Old Age: How to Stay Organized, Loving, and Sane While Caring for Them (Paperback)

This is an excellent book for anyone who is or will become a caretaker for the elderly. The author writes intimately of her personal journey in taking care of the elderly people in her life. Her story is warm, interesting, and very informative. This book is written in a progressive order covering elder care situations from medications to funeral arrangements. Throughout the book there are many helpful resources, websites and checklists. I highly recommend this book as a good read and a valuable resource.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars A great resource for this stage of family life

October 30, 2013

By Robin Fossum(Aloha, OR USA)

Surviving the STRESS of Your Parents’ Old Age: How to Stay Organized, Loving, and Sane While Caring for Them (Paperback)

“Surviving the Stress of Your Parents’ Old Age” is both a story and a resource manual for any family negotiating the challenges often associated with this life stage. “Mom, You’re Making Me Crazy” was a powerful chapter, driving home the reality of the nightmare care giving can be. By giving us this view of her world, McAdam effectively engages readers facing this future. With gritty candor, she courageously shares the raw truth of her journey toward personal empowerment, compelled by desperation, loyalty and love. With the ensuing chapters, McAdam’s extensive homework results in a wealth of insight and resources, enabling her readers to become well equipped for making informed decisions in advance of the impending life changes connected with this family system life stage. My siblings, living halfway across the country from me, are on the front lines of care for our aging Mother. “Surviving the Stress of Your Parents’ Old Age” provides a hands-on tool as they negotiate the dynamic nature of Mom’s care needs. Likewise, it offers insights that help me understand the critical role I can play encouraging my brothers while offering ways I can be involved in Mom’s daily care from my long-distance position. Everyone on this journey of aging will find McAdam’s reader-friendly handbook a must-have in their family care preparedness resource kit.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Practical elder-care advice that will keep you sane and help you care for the ones you love!, November 23, 2013

By  Deanna Weeda(Creston, IA USA)

This review is from: Surviving the STRESS of Your Parents’ Old Age: How to Stay Organized, Loving, and Sane While Caring for Them (Paperback)

The author gives a personal and real-world account of her experiences with the elders in her life. She details each situation, how she and her family went about making choices in the best interests of the elder member and the research she did to help make these decisions. Those resources she shares in the book to help others make their own decision for their loved ones. This book isn’t some over-educated person with no hands-on experience giving their “advice”.

Most of all this is a sincere recount offered by someone who really cares and want to help others because she places a great value on the well being of her loved ones. Well done!

 

5 of 5 Stars  Non-ficiton Book Review November 26, 2013

By James W. Pixley (Corona, CA USA)

Surviving the STRESS of Your Parents’ Old Age: How to Stay Organized Loving and Sane While Caring for Them (Paperback)

I wish I had this book while I was dealing with both my parents, particularly my mother, in their last years! Nan offers great insight that comes from her own hands-on experience along with her widening knowledge of the very issues, problems and almost impossible situations we, as care-givers, face. The worst advice I have ever heard, I think, would be “Expect the unexpected.” That has never made sense to me! I would much rather be as prepared as possible for potential or likely situations. With Nan’s help, a lot of agony, grief and angst can be saved. I can strongly and enthusiastically recommend Nan McAdam’s book!